Who knew

When I pierced my lip I didn’t do it to impress or attract anyone, I did it because when I look at my face even with make up on it is incomplete to me. I have a mental picture of myself and what I see there is not what I see in the mirror, it’s not a true reflection of myself. No, I’m not ugly, but I wasn’t expressing myself the way I truly wanted to; makeup is not my preferred medium, I like body jewelry.

Who knew that with just one piece of jewelry strategically selected and placed my confidence would leap. Ok maybe that combined with losing a little weight in my face, but seriously I noticed that I’m not shying away from people as much. It’s weird because “it’s just jewelry.” It doesn’t make me tougher, harder, scarier…it doesn’t really change me, it simply makes me more comfortable. I know it adds to my beauty and can even seduce a guy from across the room just watching me work it with my mouth, but it’s just an accessory, an extension of me.

Leave a Reply

